[NEWS] 2023 AI Safety Summit - The Bletchley Declaration

In a groundbreaking development, 28 countries, including major players like the United States, the European Union, and China, have come together at Bletchley Park to sign the Bletchley Declaration on AI safety. This historic agreement highlights the shared understanding of the opportunities and risks associated with frontier AI, which poses the most urgent and dangerous challenges. The declaration emphasizes the need for international cooperation to ensure the safe and responsible development and deployment of AI for the global community's benefit. This builds on the UK Prime Minister’s announcement last week for the UK to establish the world’s first AI Safety Institute and complement existing international efforts including at the G7, OECD, Council of Europe, United Nations and the Global Partnership on AI.

The participating nations, which span regions such as Africa, the Middle East, and Asia, have endorsed this declaration, recognizing the potential for significant harm stemming from AI misuse or unintended control issues. Particular concerns include cybersecurity, biotechnology, and disinformation risks, as well as issues related to bias and privacy.

To address these risks and uncertainties, the signatories have committed to support a network of scientific research on frontier AI safety. This complements existing international efforts and helps establish an evidence base for managing AI risks while harnessing the technology's benefits.

International cooperation is considered crucial in addressing these challenges, and two upcoming summits, co-hosted by The Republic of Korea and France, will continue to drive this collaboration forward. These efforts are aimed at informing national and international policies to tackle AI risks effectively.

The Bletchley Declaration also acknowledges the responsibility of developers of powerful AI systems to ensure their safety through testing and appropriate measures.

The UK's Prime Minister, Rishi Sunak, sees this agreement as a landmark achievement that will secure the future for generations to come. The Technology Secretary, Michelle Donelan, underscores the importance of global collaboration and building public trust in AI's safe development. Foreign Secretary James Cleverly emphasizes that AI's impact knows no borders and highlights the UK's role in fostering international cooperation.

This historic agreement marks a significant step toward ensuring that AI technologies are developed and used safely, benefiting people worldwide. The global community recognizes the need to work together to harness AI's transformative potential while safeguarding against potential risks.

Find below:

The countries represented were:

  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • European Union
  • France
  • Germany
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Netherlands
  • Nigeria
  • The Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Türkiye
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America